Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home » Sports » PHF announces senior, junior teams for Malaysia tournaments
PHF announces senior, junior teams for Malaysia tournaments

PHF announces senior, junior teams for Malaysia tournaments

KARACHI: The selection committee of the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) yesterday announced the senior and U21 teams for upcoming tournaments to be held in Malaysia.

The selectors, after observing the performances of both the senior and junior probables in their recently concluded three-match test series, have announced the 16-member squads for both the sides.

The seniors are scheduled to take part in the Asian Champions Trophy, which will be held from October 20-30 in Kuantan, Malaysia, while the U21 team will be participating in the Sultan of Johor Cup, which will also take place in Malaysia from October 31 to November 6.

AHF Women’s Cup: Pakistan go down 5-1 to Thailand

The juniors, however, will have to undergo a preparatory training camp from Friday at Lahore’s Johar Town Hockey Stadium.

The senior team will be led by Muhammad Irfan Sr and includes Aleem Bilal and Ammad Shakeel Butt in defence, whereas the forward line options are Muhammad Irfan Jr, Umar Bhutta, Arslan Qadir, Ali Shan, Ejaz Ahmed, Muhammad Rizwan Sr and Abdul Haseem Khan.

Meanwhile, the centre halves will be Rashid Mehmood, Tasawar Abbas, Nawaz Ashfaq, Fareed Ahmed, Touseeq Arshad and Muhamamd Rizwan Junior.

Seniors void juniors’ valiant effort

Imran Butt and Amjad Ali have been picked as goalkeepers, while the team’s head coach will be Khwaja Junaid.

“The team announced has the best players we have. All the players are experienced and have played international matches,” Junaid told The Express Tribune. “The selection committee has seen the performance, skills and fitness of the boys and then picked the side.”

The juniors, meanwhile, will be captained by forward Dilber Hussain, with his fellow attackers being Shan Irshad, Azfar Yaqoob, Muhammad Dilber, Muhammad Atiq, Bilal Qadir, Mohsin Sabir, Rana Suhail Riaz, Samiullah, Muhammad Rizwan and Umar Hamdi.

Ammad Shakeel Butt, Abu Bakar Mahmood, Faizan, Junaid Kamal and Tazeemul Hassan will accompany the team as centre halves. The fullbacks comprise of Atif Mushtaq, Hassan Anwar and Mubashir Ali, while Ali Raza and Talal Khalid are the selected goalkeepers.

Courtesy : Express Tribune



Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkdin
Contact us
Please Like Facebook Fan Page
By Liking facebook Page you are Updated about Latest Videos & News